Home   |  Staff   |  Local News   |  Area Events   |  Birthdays   |  Photos   |  Contact Us   |  Employment
Wednesday, November 07, 2018

Tuesday election results
Tennesseans went to the polls on Tuesday electing a number of new officials. In Newport, the voters elected Roland “Trey” Dykes, Jr. their new mayor with 730 votes. Former Mayor Connie Ball did not seek re-election, and Dykes defeated two other candidates Jeff Fancher(708) and Claude Gatlin, Jr.(333). Fancher did not seek re-election to the Newport City Council in his bid for the mayoral position. Dykes father, Roland Dykes, previously served as mayor of Newport. The mayor-elect is retired from Pepsico and currently chairs the Newport Utilities Board of Directors, as well as the East Tennessee Development District. He expressed his appreciation to Fancher and Gatlin, who he said ran a "clean race". "There wasn't anything negative, and I appreciate the confidence the community placed in me. It's a great honor for me to follow in my father's legacy." Dykes said he has goals for Newport, and with his business background, he wants an emphasis to be placed on a close working arrangement with Partnership President Lucas Graham and the city council to promote economic development in the community. " I want to bring jobs and more prosperity to Newport. We are going to have to find a way to overcome this opioid epidemic so that we can maintain a sustainable, manageable workforce. That is one of the long-term goals that must be achieved before we can accomplish our goals for Newport." Vice Mayor Mike Proffitt was re-elected to the city council with 975 votes, the largest number of votes cast in the race. He also expressed appreciation for a positive campaign. "I didn't hear one negative comment, everyone ran a good clean race." He was followed by newcomer Louanna Ottinger with 970 votes, and incumbents Mike Hansel(874), Bobby Knight(851) and Steve Smith(802). Othe city council candidates were Bill Costner (710), Jeff Stokeky(623) and Don Wise(450). David Perryman(1,399), Jan Brooks Sneed(1.301) and Malcolm Powers(1,095) were re-elected to the Newport School Board without opposition. Ronnie Hommel(48), Douglas Daniel(43) and Thad Balch(38) were elected to the Parrottsville Commission. There also were two write-in candidates for the commission, Gayla Hommel(18) and Randal Sheets(9). Other candidates who carried Cocke County are; for Governor Republican Bill Lee(8,011)over Democrat Karl Dean(2,079), and for US Senate, Republican Marsha Blackburn(7,520) over Democrat Phil Bredesen(2,618), For the First District US House seat, Republican incumbent Phil Roe(7,883), Democrat Marty Olsen(1,807) and Independent Michael Salyer(231). Republican Steve Southerland was re-elected to the State Senate(7,832) with no opposition. Republican Jeremy Faison(8,183) was re-elected to his Eleventh District State House seat over Democrat Vincyl Fitzgerald(1,323) and Independent Carl Eggers(574).

Return to Today's News Stories - Front Page

Tuesday, January 22, 2019

  • Moore arrest
  • Lee sworn in as governor
  • MLK Celebration
  • Pit Bull attack
  • Knoxville trucker injured
  • Sanctuary cities
  • Gasoline moves higher

    Saturday, January 19, 2019

  • Broadway work wrapping up
  • Some Smokies open over the holiday
  • Lakeway Pallet fire
  • Unemployment benefits for federal workers
  • Bill Lee on issues

    Thursday, January 17, 2019

  • Graham home destroyed
  • Four inmates charged with assault
  • Cocke Circuit Court
  • Hepatitis C cases increasing in Tennessee

    Wednesday, January 16, 2019

  • Trouten/Franklin
  • Lane sentencing
  • The Wall
  • Hang up the phone..... while driving
  • Should national parks be open ?
  • Should national parks be open ?

    Tuesday, January 15, 2019

  • Cocke County Finance Committee
  • Warrants issued by Cocke County Circuit Court
  • A thru Z theft
  • VW to expand in Tennessee

    Home  |  Staff  |  Photos  |  Local News  |  Contact Us  |  Employment

    © 2007 92.3 WNPC - Bristol Broadcasting Company, Inc.
    All Rights Reserved