Friday, September 20, 2019

Burn permits required early in Tennessee
With hot and dry weather leading into our fall fire season, Tennessee’s State Forester is requiring a burn permit for all open-air outdoor fires beginning on Monday. Typically, burn permits are required in Tennessee from Oct. 15-May 15. The Tennessee Department of Agriculture Division of Forestry is putting burn permits in place early as a precaution, because if current weather conditions continue as leaf fall begins, fire danger may escalate. “This precautionary measure will be beneficial as we continue to monitor fire risk,” State Forester David Arnold said. “The burn permit system focuses attention on safety, and it’s important for citizens to know when, where, and how to safely burn debris. Caution and conservative judgment should always be used when working with fire.” Obtaining a burn permit is free, fast, and simple. If you are burning a leaf or brush pile that is smaller than 8 feet by 8 feet in size, the online system provides a quick and efficient way to apply. For a larger burn, call your local Division of Forestry burn permit phone number Mon. through Fri., 8 am - 4:30 pm. The online system and phone numbers can be found at www.BurnSafeTN.org. More than 300,000 permits are issued each year, and they are only issued when conditions are conducive to safe burning. For a list of materials that may not be burned, check the Tennessee Department of Environment and Conservation's open burning guidelines at www.tn.gov/environment/program-areas/apc-air-pollution-control-home/apc/open-burning.html. Burning without a permit is a Class C misdemeanor punishable by up to 30 days in jail and/or a fine. Wildfires caused by arson are a class C felony punishable by 3 to 15 years in prison and up to $10,000 in fines. Anyone with information about suspected arson activity should call the state Fire Marshal’s Arson Hotline at 1-800-762-3017. The hotline is answered 24 hours a day, and you may remain anonymous when providing information. Cash awards are offered for information leading to an arrest or conviction. To report illegal burning, please call 1-888-891-TDEC.


Return to Today's News Stories - Front Page

Thursday, June 04, 2020

  • Catons Grove shooting
  • Cades Cove Loop is restricted
  • Jobless claims
  • Vote by mail
  • Black Tennessee lawmakers call for addresing racial issues
  • Medic needs blood
  • Black lawmakers call for respect for everyone
  • Planning Commission to hold public hearing
  • Cades Cove to be closed to vehicles on Wednesdays
  • State parks for community service hours
  • Majors dead at 85

    Wednesday, June 03, 2020

  • Mantooth Butcher shop fire
  • Cocke County early voting moves
  • Financial Stimulus Accountability Group
  • RNC national convention may come to Tennessee
  • Beth Freeman has died
  • Livestock scam

    Tuesday, June 02, 2020

  • Evans is terminated
  • Cocke Countians rally for Floyd
  • Free fishing on Saturday
  • Gasoline prices move up
  • Stonefly is coming for Rhythm on the River

    Monday, June 01, 2020

  • Cocke County crash
  • Tennessee protests against racism
  • UT Athletics statement
  • Alexander on WHO
  • Teen cyclist dies in Smokies

    Sunday, May 31, 2020

  • Cruise Against Cancer