Friday, August 07, 2020

Election numbers
The final numbers are in for today's election in Cocke County. There was lots of interest in the Republican and Democrat primaries for the First District congressional race to fill the seat being vacated by Phil Roe. In the Republican primary Josh Gapp received 1055 votes to 871 for Diana Harshbarger In the Democrat primary, the only candidate left in the race, Blair Walsingham, received 156 votes In the primaries for the US Senate seat to replace the retiring Lamar Alexander Bill Hagerty defeated Manny Sethi by a vote of 2425 to 1597 In the Democrat primary, Marquita Bradshaw received 117 votes and James Mackler received 116 votes. For First District Constable, Josh Spurgeon received 429 votes to 307 votes for Randy Laws.

Return to Today's News Stories - Front Page

Thursday, September 24, 2020

  • Two dead in Dandridge fire
  • Quality Woodworking damaged by fire
  • Jefferson City burglary
  • Deer hunting season
  • COVID 19 Update

    Wednesday, September 23, 2020

  • NU Board Meeting
  • Newport Planning Commission
  • World Teachers Day
  • Tennessee House Education Committee
  • COVID Update

    Tuesday, September 22, 2020

  • Cocke CLB meeting
  • Two Cocke County homes destroyed by fire
  • Lee doesn't always wear a mask
  • Gas price expected to keep dropping
  • Black bear death and vandalism
  • COVID Update

    Monday, September 21, 2020

  • Mail-In voting
  • Americans mourn the death of Ruth Bader Ginsburg
  • Jefferson child rape charges
  • Sanderlin pursuit
  • Davis crash results in injuries
  • COVID update

    Sunday, September 20, 2020

  • Cocke County High School Reminder