Saturday, August 08, 2020

Safe Haven law expanded
The Tennessee Department of Children’s Services has joined with A Secret Safe Place for Newborns of Tennessee, Inc. to alert citizens to the newly amended Safe Haven Law passed by the Tennessee General Assembly. The bill increases the timeframe in which the mother of a newborn may surrender custody of the child to an approved facility without criminal liability from within 72 hours of birth to within two weeks. “Tennessee’s Safe Haven Law has been proven to save lives, and this enhancement will go even further by giving mothers in desperate circumstances additional time to make a difficult decision,” DCS Commissioner Jennifer Nichols said. The Tennessee Safe Haven Law allows mothers to safely surrender a newborn baby within 14 days of birth, confidentially to staff at any designated Secret Safe Place for Newborns facility without fear of prosecution. Facilities include hospitals, birthing centers, community health clinics, outpatient and walk-in clinics, as well as fire, police, and EMS stations that are staffed 24 hours a day.


Return to Today's News Stories - Front Page

Thursday, September 24, 2020

  • Two dead in Dandridge fire
  • Quality Woodworking damaged by fire
  • Jefferson City burglary
  • Deer hunting season
  • COVID 19 Update

    Wednesday, September 23, 2020

  • NU Board Meeting
  • Newport Planning Commission
  • World Teachers Day
  • Tennessee House Education Committee
  • COVID Update

    Tuesday, September 22, 2020

  • Cocke CLB meeting
  • Two Cocke County homes destroyed by fire
  • Lee doesn't always wear a mask
  • Gas price expected to keep dropping
  • Black bear death and vandalism
  • COVID Update

    Monday, September 21, 2020

  • Mail-In voting
  • Americans mourn the death of Ruth Bader Ginsburg
  • Jefferson child rape charges
  • Sanderlin pursuit
  • Davis crash results in injuries
  • COVID update

    Sunday, September 20, 2020

  • Cocke County High School Reminder